Share

Tweet this

Contract Specifications for CME E-mini S&P 500 Futures (ES)

EXCHANGE Chicago Mercantile Exchange (CME)
PRODUCT CODE CME Globex: ES
CME ClearPort: ES
Clearing: ES
BTIC: EST
CONTRACT UNIT $50 x S&P 500 Index
MINIMUM PRICE FLUCTUATION Outright
0.25 index points=$12.50

Calendar Spread
0.05 index points=$2.50

TRADING HOURS CME Globex:
Sunday – Friday 6:00 pm – 5:00 pm New York Time/ET (5:00 pm – 4:00 pm Chicago Time/CT) with 15-minute trading halt Monday – Friday 4:15 pm – 4:30 pm New York time/ET (3:15 pm – 3:30 pm Chicago Time/CT). Monday – Thursday 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm New York Time/ET (4:00 pm – 5:00 pm Chicago Time/CT) daily maintenance period.

CME ClearPort:
Sunday – Friday 6:00 pm – 5:00 pm New York time/ET (5:00 pm – 4:00 pm Chicago Time/CT). Monday – Thursday 5:00 pm – 6:00 pm New York Time/ET (4:00 pm – 5:00 pm Chicago Time/CT) daily maintenance period.

TERMINATION OF TRADING Trading can occur up to 8:30 am on the 3rd Friday of the contract month.

For the BTIC, trading terminates on the Thursday before the Third Friday of the Contract Month.

LISTED CONTRACT Five months in the March Quarterly Cycle (Mar, Jun, Sep, Dec)
SETTLEMENT METHOD Financially Settled
SETTLEMENT PROCEDURES E-mini S&P 500 Settlement Procedures
POSITION LIMIT CME Position Limits
EXCHANGE RULEBOOK CME 358
PRICE LIMIT OR CIRCUIT Price Limits
VENDOR CODES Quote Vendor Symbols Listing

This page was last updated: November 06, 2015

RECOMMENDATIONS

 

I’m interested to trade but I don’t have an account. Where do I start?

If you are new to futures trading, we highly recommend you read through each of these informative links on how to get started.

SiteLock